McDonald’s

Once upon a time there was a mom who brought her son and her son’s friend to McDonald’s Playplace for some lunch and some time for the boys to release their energy.  About halfway through eating a young teenager and a little girl walk in who clearly had “something wrong with her.”  The little girl was running around like a maniac, taking off her socks on the “socks required” playplace and was even blocking the crawl tunnels, not letting the woman’s boys run through.  The mother was super annoyed and informed the teenager, who was repeatedly putting the socks back on the child, that the act of the child taking her socks off was “DisGUSting.”  Lots of snotty looks accompanied her comments.  As the teenager tried to take the little girl out of the crawl tubes the mom had some more comments and more looks.  

I walked in about 20 minutes later (because apparently it takes 20 minutes to get french fries and a chocolate chip frappe)  The little girl was Maria and the teen was Julia.  Clearly, the mom had thought that Julia was another negligent teenage mom and had a look of shock when I sat down with Julia and disciplined Maria for taking her socks off.  I did not know the previous encounters had occurred and I tried to make small talk with the woman because I recognized one of the boys she had with her.  At the time I thought she was just weirdly anti-social, but now I realize she was probably feeling awkward about the whole situation.  She gathered the boys and left.  Obviously, as soon as she walked out Julia told me about their encounter and I was furious!!!  Even if Jules was a teenage mom, who was this woman to treat her like that?  A teen mom to a special needs kid?  Perhaps she should be offering help!  I come back to this a lot… but why are mothers so judgmental of each other?

The woman had no idea of what our last few days have been like, nor should she.  We all have a story.  She didn’t know that maria had an eeg and sleep study on Sunday night which puts her in a anxiety ridden PTSD for days, sometimes weeks after.  (I am not exaggerating.. she actually has PTSD from all the EEgs).  I have been listening to her whine and cry for 72 hours.  When she is not whining she is acting out the procedure with her babies and fake crying.  SHe looks like she has a rash all over, because she has broken blood vessels on her face. neck and chest from screaming so much during the hook-up.  I am exhausted, waking for hours in the middle of the night last night worried about the results and I had just come from a funeral where I tried not to cry so that I didn’t ruin the music for this man’s celebration.  At McDonald’s I was relieved that maria was not whining, so I honestly didn’t care that she was taking her socks off… but i disciplined her for fear of public judgement, I guess.  When we got home she whined some more and then proceeded to urinate all over the kitchen floor, which is very unlike her.  So mom at Mcdonald’s.. how about we stop judging people.  In fairness, I do not know her story, but no one’s story allows them to treat others like crap.

At the funeral today I was reminded of Jesus’s last words.. “It is Finished.”  Jesus was referring to the fact that the prophecies and his journey had been fulfilled on Earth and then he breathed his last human breath.  Like Jesus, we all have a journey which we must go through with varying joys and hardships before we can say “It is Finished.”  I just wish we could all respect each others’  journeys and maybe even help each other out as we go along, not make then harder.

Let’s be real.. because I am fat you were judging me a little for getting fries and a chocolate chip frappe.  Well, they were for Maria and Julia.  So, stop judging.

Now, let’s be even more real… I ate some of their fries and am eating french vanilla ice cream as we speak 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment